Blog 5: Why should anyone be lead by me!


The module of Leading in a Changing World develop my vision of leadership and management. There are many theories helped me better understand how to leading different people in a changing world.

Hofstede’s cultural dimensions make me know how to understand they way that people behaviour in diverse team, such as Power Distance, Individualism vs. Collectivism, Masculinity vs. Femininity, Uncertainty avoidance, Long-term vs. Short-term orientation, and Indulgence vs. Restraint.

屏幕快照 2015-04-04 下午8.18.56

Handy describes main 4 types of organisational culture model make me clear that every organisation have their own unique culture or mix of different types of organisational culture, such as Power Culture, Role Culture, Task Culture and Person Culture.

屏幕快照 2015-04-04 下午8.17.06

Different people like to working in different types of organisational culture. If they work for the organisation with the culture that their personality consistent they will be happy and satisfied in workplace.

French & Raven’s organisational power suggest manager can use different organisational power to encourage or punish subordinates to manage and control  their employees. Those organisational power are reward power, coercive power and legitimate power.

屏幕快照 2015-04-04 下午8.53.56

However, as a leader also need to know what their subordinates look for from their work and how to motivate them. It could be meaningful work, collaboration, autonomy, recognition, growth or money.

Yukl presented that ‘Leadership is the process of influencing others to understand and agree about what need to be done and how to do it. And it is the process of facilitating individual and collective effects to accomplish shared objective. In my point of view, communication skill in this process play an important role to influence people to accept the arrangement of work.

As a leader not only authority but also need to influence and guide to get a better results from work. How to carry on a effective leadership into your organisation is important to successfully manage your people. Based on the study of leadership style I understood that there is no best leadership style. The most effective leadership style must depend on the exact situation in the organisation, suitability quite important for choose a effective leadership style.

My father inspired me to become a democratic leader. As a leader, he was faced with a difficult time when the company set up. He labored hard to make sure everyone worked together to come to a common understanding of strategy. It was the democratic leadership style and collaborative effects. His management experience inspired me how importance of listening others opinions and work with employees.

I had learned about the different types of leadership style in this module. They are Authoritarian style, Democratic style, and Laissez-faire style. Comparing with Authoritarian and Laissez-faire style, Democratic style allows more participation in the decision making process. I choose democratic leadership style is because that Authoritarian style and Laissez-faire is too extreme. Authoritarian style which is leader makes decision by themselves without any discussion with subordinates. And the other extreme one is Laissez-faire style which is allow subordinates to make all decisions. The reason why I choose this leadership style is due to my personality. I want everyone within the organisation or team could contribute their ideas and share their feeling in decision making process.

The teamwork experiences told me that Democratic leadership style will be good for manage and influence team members’s emotion in workplace. I work with a team in Fashion Design and Product Development to create a range book for the end of module assignment. At the beginning some of the group member happy with the fashion trend about animal, some of  us are unhappy with that. Disagreement makes our work delay. In order to make sure everyone happy with the decision, we re-making a decision for the trend of Monochrome Magic and everyone agree with that. it makes the following tasks more smooth and at the end we got a good feedback from tutor. This experience make me believe that every opinions within the organisation been respected in the same way to make the tasks go on wheels.

Based on week 2 group activities (Lego Towers, Quick Draw and Can you tie a tie?) I received feedbacks form my colleagues. The following image is one of the feedback from my colleagues.

屏幕快照 2015-04-04 下午9.33.28

I am preparing and exciting to become a democratic leader who can really influencing people in my future workplace. In order to become a good leader, I need to improve many skill to make sure my leading dream come true. The communication skill again still need to improve to communicate subordinates. It could be developed by practice in teamwork combined with theories. I will learn more about leadership and use those theories and frameworks into real life.

14 comments

  1. woleile · April 4, 2015

    be a good leader, haha

    Like

  2. leila chen · April 4, 2015

    democratic leadership style is good, does it suitable for any organisation?

    Like

    • culcchenx64 · April 5, 2015

      I don’t think it can be used in any organisation, for different kind of situation of organisation should used suitable leadership style.

      Like

  3. Juan · April 4, 2015

    Congratulations!!! You finish your final blog! You ca use the theoretical knowledge into your real life practice.

    Like

  4. Sarah · April 4, 2015

    Thanks for uploading and sharing such a fabulous work here! It’s really helpful and cheerful when I just follow you from the start. Wish you everything goes well, my darling! Xx

    Like

    • culcchenx64 · April 5, 2015

      Thanks for your comment!! Your support is important for me, mua~

      Like

  5. paul · April 4, 2015

    deeply understanding of leadership theory and be able to connected with personal experience to explain how to become a excellent leader

    Like

    • culcchenx64 · April 5, 2015

      Thank you for your comments. I will continue developing my blog.

      Like

  6. Rita · April 4, 2015

    Brilliant! But I think it could be more better there are more critical thinking to support your ideas. Xx

    Like

    • culcchenx64 · April 5, 2015

      Your suggestion is good for me to improve my blog quality I will modify it.

      Like

  7. O'HARE · April 4, 2015

    SO informative! Thank you for this, really enjoyed reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

