Research Project – Literature Review

Literature review is to show that I have to read and have a grasp of a particular topic or a question. This literature review is about the trend of androgyny and it will discuss the research activities that I did to this topic.

Due to I have no background about fashion, I need to catch the topic that tutor talk in the class. Androgyny is the main topic in this semester and it is important for me to growth the mindset about androgyny. In order to understand the trend of androgyny I could search the information form different sources.

 

For our group presentation about trend briefing of androgyny, my part is demonstration an understanding of fashion industry and trend store confirmation and findings.

According to the research, I know that fashion industry is the industry that deals with the world of fashion. It includes the design, manufacturing, distribution, marketing, retailing, advertising, and promotion of all types of apparel from the most rarefied and expensive haute couture and designer fashions to ordinary everyday clothing. The fashion industry needs to follow the trend information to help understand and respond to the latest trend of fashion. These information may come form the ideas from different designer, WGSN trend forecaster, luxury brands, and the competitors.

The following slide page is used to the presentation of understanding of the fashion industry part.

屏幕快照 2014-12-10 下午11.33.31

After conduct the definition of fashion industry, our group select High Street as our target market. As showing in the following image, the high street brand is like ZARA, H&M, Next, & Other Stories, Whistle ect.

屏幕快照 2014-12-10 下午11.33.49

First of all, I search the information about Androgyny from WGSN, there are many concept about this specific style. My group member gives the definition about androgyny.

According to the research from WGSN, we found out that Androgyny is a trend. We select a specific androgyny style look and look around high street brands find the similar style from different stores, such as & Other Stories, COS, Zara and Whistle. The ‘Look’ grid as showing follows.

屏幕快照 2014-12-14 下午8.42.59

After that, the trend consumer profile board be provide based on the result of our questionnaire. About this questionnaire, we design a questionnaire separately. The final one we used in presentation is my one. It is like the following image.

屏幕快照 2014-12-10 下午11.35.09

屏幕快照 2014-12-10 下午11.35.24

And then this slide page shows that the androgyny trend consumers may tend to purchase this kind of products; they may drink costa coffee, listen jazz music, buy their daily stuff from Tesco, and use Facebook. This part, I was present in the presentation.

屏幕快照 2014-12-10 下午11.34.11

In order to trend store confirmation, I went to & Other Stories take those pictures add to my research.

屏幕快照 2014-12-14 下午10.15.42

To conduct my contributions of the group presentation, I did much job for the data collection. Majority of the images we used in the questionnaire and slides are from my research. For example, ‘look’ data collection grid, store confirmation, and questionnaire images. The information I was found is carefully selected to use in our group presentation.

However, I was not very confident of my English speaking. So that the performance in the presentation was not very good, even I already try my best to be confident. Due to many group’s presentation time was over 10 minutes, we decided to delete many important detail information, that may be seen as lack of information. But regretfully, that is the wrong decision for our whole group performance.

Even I personally not very satisfied with my performance in the presentation, I still very glad for the teamwork. I practiced my English speaking with my team members through this presentation. We are happy to work and know each other. Communication skill is important for the teamwork that helps our group better implement the tasks of the separate parts.

Leave a Reply

